Race of France
logo Race of France

Race of France - 26-28/06/2015

The WTCC’s first visit to the Circuit Paul Ricard was, fittingly, a scene of triumph for the works Citroën team on home soil, with Frenchman Yvan Muller and José María López sharing the wins. Race one was notable for Honda securing its first podium finish of the year in third, courtesy of Gabriele Tarquini, and Rob Huff showing the LADA team’s progress by claiming fifth. Built in 1969 and rebuilt in 1999 as predominantly a testing venue, Paul Ricard hosted the French Grand Prix 14 times between 1971 and 1990. Four-times world champion Alain Prost won the race four times too.



1: Citroen did suffer a setback at Paul Ricard when Sébastien Loeb and José María López had their qualifying times scrubbed due to an anomaly with the fuel cut-off valves in their cars. Thereafter Loeb charged from the back of the field to second in race one.

2: Nigel Mansell still holds the lap record on the shorter Club Circuit at Paul Ricard, the layout used by the WTCC. The Briton set a time of 1m04.402s in a Ferrari 641 at the 1990 French GP.

3: After the grand prix ended, Paul Ricard hosted motorbike racing and French national racing. It was also home to the Oreca F3000 team.

4: Paul Ricard is located near the cliff-top village of Le Castellet in the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur region, setting of the 1938 French film La femme du Boulanger (The Baker’s Wife).

5: Nearby Marseille is the second largest city in France after Paris and is also the country’s oldest city, having been founded some 2600 years ago. It enjoys 300 days of sunshine per year.

Official Website

Track information

Lap distance: 3.841km
Race distance: 2 x 16 laps

Track records

Qualifying: Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m29.566s (154.38kph), 19/04/2014
Race: José María López (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m31.468s (151.174kph), 20/04/2014

2014 Results

Pole: Yvan Muller (Citroën) – 1m29.566s
Race 1: 1. Y. Muller (Citroën) – 2. S. Loeb (Citroën) – 3. G. Tarquini (Honda)
Race 2: 1. J. Lopez (Citroën) – 2. Y. Muller (Citroën) – 3. T. Monteiro (Honda)