Race of Hungary
logo Race of Hungary

Race of Hungary - 01-03/05/2015

This circuit, located close to the capital Budapest, is of course famed for hosting the first Formula One grand prix behind the Iron Curtain in 1986 – an event won by Nelson Piquet in a Williams-Honda. The race was held in honour of János Drapál, the first Hungarian to win motorcycle grands prix in the early 1970s. Overtaking can be tricky at this twisty 4.3-kilometre track, but great WTCC action is always likely. Former grand prix driver Gianni Morbidelli broke Citroën’s grip on the WTCC last year when he won the second race at the Hungaroring for Chevrolet, after Yvan Muller had triumphed in the first.



1: Hungarian fans will be closely following the progress of local hero Norbert Michelisz, who will contest his fifth season in WTCC in a Zengö Motorsport-run Honda.

2: Michelisz has had his share of success in the WTCC – he won the last race of the year at Macau and the Rookie Challenge in his debut season in 2010, before going on to claim another overall victory on home soil and the Yokohama Trophy in 2012.

3: Besides WTCC and F1, the Hungaroring has played host to the DTM and FIA GT championships, and also hosts a public drag race event every month.

4: Hungary is one of the oldest countries in Europe. It was founded in 896, before France and Germany became separate entities, and before the unification of Anglo-Saxon kingdoms.

5: Hungarian inventions include the Rubik’s cube (Erno Rubik), the ballpoint pen (László Bíró) and the theory of the hydrogen bomb (Edward Teller).

Official Website

Track information

Lap distance: 4.381km (2.722m)
Race distance: 2 x 14 laps

Lap records

Qualifying: Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m48.727s (145.05kph), 03/05/2014
Race: Yvan Muller (Citroën C-Elysée WTCC), 1m50.119s (143.223kph), 04/05/2014

2014 Results

Pole: Yvan Muller (Citroën) - 1m48.727s
Race 1: 1. Y. Muller (Citroën) - 2. J. Lopez (Citroën) - 3. T. Monteiro (Honda)
Race 2: 1. G. Morbidelli (Chevrolet) - 3. T. Monteiro (Honda) - 3. H. Valente (Chevrolet)